Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation


Main content start

History of the Committee

Axe Comm regards its original members as the Immortal 21, the brave souls that reclaimed the Stanford Axe from Cal in 1930. Since then, there have been several different evolutions throughout the decades. The modern version of the Axe Committee has been in existence since 1982.

What We Do

Our primary responsibility is the care and security of the Stanford Axe, the trophy awarded annually to the winner of the Big Game. In addition, we attend most major Stanford Athletics events to promote spirit and excitement among the student sections and other fans.

At home football games, you’ll see us blowing the Stanford Train Whistle when we score, running flags, raising and lowering nets, and generally having a great time watching Stanford dominate.

At home basketball games, you’ll see us waving the Stanford flags during pregame introductions and timeouts and throwing t-shirts into the crowd.

Who We Are

Members of the Axe Committee are students from all corners of campus with one thing in common — a love and appreciation for all things Stanford. We also have a strong base of alumni members.

2021-2022 Leadership

  • Chair: Jared Diaz (, '23

  • Vice-Chair: Merissa Rieken, '23

  • Financial Officer: Logan Hatch, '22

  • Directors of Gameday Operations: Kate Golub, '23 and Drew Gao, '23

  • Director of Big Game Operations: Monica Tavassoli, '23

  • Director of Recruitment and Swag: Kristen Fairbank, '23

  • Social Chairs: Layton Rosenfield, '23 and Ashlee Kupor, '23

  • Director of Communications: TaNia Donatto, '23

  • Chairs Emeritus: Alex Bradfield, '22 ( and Carlino Cuono, '22 (